C. Kent Osborne, MD

C. Kent Osborne Baylor College of MedicineProfessor of Medicine, Molecular and Cellular Biology
Director of the Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center
Baylor College of Medicine

Dr. C. Kent Osborne was born in 1946 in St. Louis, Missouri. He received his AB and MD degrees from the University of Missouri, both with honors. He completed his internship and residency at Johns Hopkins Hospital in 1974, and then spent three years as a clinical associate at the Medicine Branch, Breast Cancer Section of the National Cancer Institute in Bethesda, Maryland. In 1977 he took his first faculty position at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, where he rose to the rank of Professor and became Director of the Division of Medical Oncology in 1992. In 1999 Dr. Osborne and his team moved to Baylor College of Medicine to develop a new multidisciplinary Breast Center and in 2005 he was named Director of the new Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine.

Dr. Osborne is a physician scientist who has focused on breast cancer his entire career. His research interests include understanding the biology of breast cancer and then developing new treatment approaches for the disease. He has published extensively on the mechanisms by which hormonal therapies such as tamoxifen inhibit breast cancer growth and how breast cancers become resistant to these therapies. He has also studied the role of various growth factors in breast cancer development and progression, and more recently how these other growth factors can interact with estrogen to stimulate tumor growth. His laboratory is also focusing on the mechanisms by which breast cancers develop resistance to HER2-targeted therapies. For more than a decade Dr. Osborne was Chairman of the Breast Cancer Committee for the Southwest Oncology Group, where he directed numerous nationwide clinical trials investigating new treatment strategies for breast cancer patients. He is currently the Principal Investigator of the Baylor Breast Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence grant and was a member of the Breast Cancer Stand Up 2 Cancer Dream Team.

Among his previous awards are the Komen Foundation Award,the Brinker International Award for Breast Cancer Research, and the European Institute of Oncology Annual Breast Cancer Award. In the Baylor College of Medicine, he is Professor of Medicine and Molecular and Cellular Biology. He currently holds the Tina and Dudley Sharp Chair in Oncology at Baylor College of Medicine.